Stop it, for the sake of you and me!

There is an advert on the television at the moment that uses the term “to you and I”.

Every day I see some similar phrase: “to you and I”, “from you and I”, “between you and I”, even “between him and I”.

STOP IT!

It is “to me” and “from me“, so why on earth would it be “to you and I“?

English uses the oblique pronoun (“me, him, her, us, them”) as a general object form, including universally after prepositions (“from, to, of, between” etc).

The direct personal pronoun forms (“I, he, she, we, they”) are only ever used as the subject of the sentence.

The confusion arises around “you”, whose direct and oblique forms are identical in Modern English. That does not excuse such grammatical carnage.

The rule is incredibly simple. So let us keep it that way, eh? For the sake of you and me… and us and them…

4 thoughts on “Stop it, for the sake of you and me!

  1. andyboal says:

    “Them and us”, surely – third person before second person before first person 😉

  2. Couldn’t care what the order is as long as the forms are right! 🙂

    But if you want to be polite, indeed third-second-first is best…

Leave a Reply

